Fair Housing Act

About the Fair Housing Act

The Fair Housing Act prohibits discrimination in housing because of:
  • Race or color
  • National origin
  • Religion
  • Sex
  • Familial status (including children under age 18 living with parents or legal custodians, pregnant women, and people securing custody of children under 18)
  • Handicap (disability)

What Housing Is Covered?

The Fair Housing Act covers most housing. In some circumstances, the act exempts owner-occupied buildings with no more than four units, single-family housing sold or rented without the use of a broker, and housing operated by organizations and private clubs that limit occupancy to members.

More Information

For more information contact the Metro Fair Housing Council at (405) 232-3247 or visit the U.S. Department of Housing and Urban Development website.