Building Codes

The following are city ordinances followed by the City of Edmond Building & Fire Code Services Department:

As of August 14, 2023, The City of Edmond has adopted the 2018 ICC family of codes. Any permits applied and/or issued on or after August 14, 2023, will fall under the 2018 codes. These changes are consistent with the State of Oklahoma’s OUBCC minimum code adoptions. The significant changes include:

Below are the adopted codes that the City of Edmond uses as their building standards:

  • ICC International Building Code (IBC) 2018
  • ICC International Fire Code (IFC) 2018
  • ADAAG ADA Accessibility Guidelines 2010
  • ANSI American National Standards A117.1 2009
  • ICC International Property Maintenance Code 2015
  • ICC International Residential Code (IRC) 2018
  • ICC International Plumbing Code (IPC) 2018
  • ICC International Fuel Gas Code 2018
  • ICC International Mechanical Code (IMC) 2018
  • ICC Administrative Provisions of Electric Code 2020
  • NEC National Electric Code (NEC) 2020